I Don’t Feel Feelings Properly

How are you?

How are you feeling?

What are you feeling?

How do you respond to this question? For me, the answer is always “fine” or “I don’t know.”

It’s not because I am trying to be difficult or because I’m avoiding the question, but because I genuinely don’t know. For the vast majority of the time I am filled with emptiness – I feel blank. Sometimes there are other, secondary emotion words I can pinpoint but it’s usually just nothing.

This is a short post without a conclusion, but I’m not feeling feelings properly…and I’m trying to wrap my head around it.

Plutchik-wheel-color-wheel-emotions

13 thoughts on “I Don’t Feel Feelings Properly

  1. I have scripted responses to the questions you mentioned. Just my outer shell giving the reply that people want to hear. Don’t believe I have the correct frame of reference to answer them truthfully.

  2. This is true for me too lately and I have been giving it a lot of thought. The color wheel is a useful way to look at emotions. For me, those feelings in the middle two circles are extremely rare, even at times when they should be my natural response.

    • Oh, I know what you and lunch mean. I thought I had more emotions that I can express appropriately but in truth I’m pretty shut down except for that outer circle, too. I may just copy that diagram and bring it to therapy. But just thinking about expressing disgust or ecstasy in a social setting puts me in an uncomfortable place. No thanks, I’m pretty comfortable to stay right where I am.

      • I can pretty much only identify the outer circle, as well.

        Daylily, uncomfortable is a great word to use – I haven’t considered the idea of discomfort about expressing these emotions in public, but that’s is absolutely part of it.

        I think I’m equating expressing emotions with not being in control of them, so I’d prefer to not express any emotion…and perhaps that’s led to not feeling them? I don’t know. More to think about.

        Lunchsketch, let me know if you reach any conclusions with your ponderings!

  3. Pingback: I Don’t Feel Feelings Properly | Mental Health, Politics and LGBT issues | Scoop.it

  4. Pingback: I Don’t Feel Feelings Properly, Part 2: Vulnerability and Control « anxiety adventures

  5. Pingback: Trouble With Words and Being a Step Behind « anxiety adventures

  6. Pingback: Anxiety. Anhedonia. Existentialism. | anxiety adventures

Share your thoughts

